The Blackjack Hall of Fame

15 May 2009

Blackjack is probably the most popular casino game in general and card game in particular. The number of special blackjack events is held every year to indicate the best players and popularize this kind of entertainment. The number of online and offline blackjack players increases every day and among them are the real blackjack stars that achieved great gaming results and teach new players to master the game of blackjack. To honor the most talented gamblers the Blackjack Hall of Fame was launched in 2002.

The first Blackjack Hall of Fame event attracted many people. The public had the chance to vote for 21 famous blackjack players and authors. The final voting was held at the Blackjack Ball in January, 2003. Only the selected professionals and blackjack experts were invited to attend the special rewarding event. The first seven members of the Hall were inducted during the first voting.

In 2004 new two members were added to the Blackjack Hall of Fame. Since then every year two more stars were elected to the famous Hall of Famers till 2006 when it was decided to choose only one person a year. Regardless this agreement, in 2007 the Hall saw a group of four blackjack stars as its members. 

These days the Blackjack Hall of Fame includes 17 members among which:

  • Al Francesco (2002)
  • Peter Griffin (2002)
  • Arnold Snyder (2002)
  • Edward O. Thorp (2002)
  • Ken Uston (2002)
  • Stanford Wong (2002)
  • Tommy Hyland (2002)
  • Max Rubin (2004)
  • Keith Taft (2004)
  • Julian Braun (2005)
  • Lawrence Revere (2005)
  • James Grosjean (2006)
  • John Chang (2007)
  • "The Four Horsemen of Aberdeen": Roger Baldwin, Wilbert Cantey, Herbert Maisel and James McDermott (2008)

The office of the Blackjack Hall of Fame is situated in San Diego, California. The Barona Casino which is the home for all events offers the members of the Hall the lifetime comp for living in its hotel on the terms that they will never gamble at Barona casino rooms.

Back to articles list